Biography

Up and coming clarinettist in the Lake Geneva region, Valentina Rebaudo stems from the Nice National Conservatory, the Musikhochschule from Freiburg in Breisgau and the University of Music Lausanne. Not content to work with several European orchestras and being very active in chamber music, this young artist of Italian origin made new ground by promoting music as a form of non-violent resistance: the responsibility of the educator in the formation of the human dimension of an artist is near and dear to her heart. Putting words into action, she teaches music to children in Palestinian refugee camps in collaboration with the Edward Said National Conservatory of Palestine, and organizes teaching projects in Mexic, Paraguay... Valentina was recently appointed professor at the Conservatory of Lausanne.

Text by Olivier Burkhalter

Born in Bordighera (Italy), Valentina Rebaudo begins studying the clarinet at the Conservatory of Menton (France) under the tutelage of Jean-Louis Dedieu. At the age of 10, she gives her first recital at the Palais de l’Europe of Menton, and three years later she is the laureate of the Le Royaume de la Musique competition organized by Radio France.​

In 2004 she enters the National Conservatory of Nice (France) with professor Michel Lethiec, where she completes her studies in 2007 with an unanimous Gold Medal. In 2009 she enters the Haute Ecole de Musique of Lau​sanne (Switzerland) in the class of Frédéric Rapin, and in 2013 she receives her Master of Music Education with highest honors from the Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne: her thesis, which focuses on the non-violent power of music (Music, this Beautiful Resistance) and proposes a new conception of musical education that emphasizes the responsibility of the pedagogue to transmit the humanness of artistic expression, impresses and moves the jury. In 2015, after one year of specialization at the Musikhochschule in Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany) in the class of Jörg Widmann, she gets her second Master of Interpretation with highest honors at the Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne.

Member of the Soloists of Monte Carlo since she was 11, Valentina has been featured as soloist with numerous orchestras, including the Symphonic Orchestra of San Remo and several chamber orchestras of the Côte d’Azur... very active in chamber music, she has been invited in several important chamber music festivals, and she often had the opportunity to give concerts beside great musicians, like the danish viola player Claus Myrup, portuguese contrabassist Tiago Pinto Ribeiro, the belgian pianist Philippe Raskin, the violinists Ernst Kovacic, Felix Froschhammer and Christian Danowicz, the french oboe player Olivier Stankiewicz, the french bassoon player Sophie Dartigalongue, the Lutoslawski Quartet of Warsaw, the Orchestra da Tre Soldi of Turin, the Leopoldinum Chamber Orchestra of Wroclaw... in 2014, she plays the world premiere of the iranian composer Hooshyar Khayam's Rhapsody for clarinet and piano, with the iranian pianist Layla Ramezan.

Valentina performs regularly with the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne in Lausanne, the Münchener Kammerorchester in Munich, the Soloists of Monte Carlo, the Lausanne Camerata, and she is member of the Orchestre Sinfonietta in Lausanne. In 2013 she is part of the cast of L'Echappée Belle, a piece for puppets, narrator and clarinet trio, produced and directed by the french actor and director Guy Jutard, that proves a huge success with more than 50 performances during the spring 2013 in Geneva. Among her projects: Opera Viva!, a lyric sextet featuring Mozart shows; Duo Rusalka with the pianist Irene Puccia, which highlights the concept of a magical world of music; Les Amours de Clara, a project in partneship with the pianist irene Puccia and the soprano Laure Barras, that intends to trace Clara Schumann's life through her letters and works. She is also artistic director of Les Journées Musicales de Romanel, a pedagogical festival whose target is initiation to concert appreciation as a listener, more specifically children's discovery of chamber music repertoire.

Holder of a CAS (Certificate of Advanced Studies) in Willems Music Initiation, Valentina has been appointed professeur at the Conservatory of Music in Lausanne in 2015, and she holds conferences on the importance of humain value of music education for child's global development: in 2013, she was invited at the International Festival of the Child's Rights in Pavia (italy), where she held a concert-conference on the theme of music that could be seen as a form of nonviolent resistance, and in 2017, she was invited at the Art Culture Territory Festival in Ventimiglia (Italy), where she held a meeting on the dual concept of music and integration. She collaborated with the University of Aix-Marseille (France), for a thesis in Political Science about the democratization of classical music, as well as with the Centre Professionnel du Nord vaudois (Switzerland) for a thesis on the importance of musical initiation in childhood, and with the Haute Ecole de Musique of Lausanne as part of an interview on active learning. She also works to promote music as a means of “peaceful resistance” in countries at war: thanks to this project, she regularly travels to Palestine and teaches music to the refugee children, working with the Edward Said National Conservatory. She also collaborates with Crescendo con la Música mexican foundation and the Recycled Orchestra of Paraguay, the idea that children, in Europe and around the world, need art to create a free society. Valentina is one of the artistes who collaborate with Les Concerts du Coeur, a Valaisan association that organizes concerts for elderly, hospitalized or incarcerated people.

Valentina lives in Vevey (Switzerland) with her husband the Swiss clarinet player Sébastien Gex, and their daughter Mira, who was born in 2017. She can speak 4 languages.

Biographie

Clarinettiste très en vue actuellement dans l'arc lémanique, Valentina Rebaudo est issue du Conservatoire National de Région de Nice, de la Musikhochschule de Freiburg im Breisgau et de la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne. Non contente de collaborer avec plusieurs orchestres européens et d'être très active en musique de chambre, cette jeune artiste d'origine italienne fait oeuvre de pionnière par la promotion de la musique comme forme de résistance non-violente : la responsabilité qu'a le pédagogue dans la formation de la dimension humaine d'un artiste lui tient particulièrement à coeur. Joignant la parole aux actes, elle enseigne la musique aux enfants des camps de réfugiés palestiniens en collaboration avec l'Edward Said National Conservatory of Palestine, et monte des projets pédagogiques au Mexique, au Paraguay... Valentina a été récemment nommée professeur au Conservatoire de Lausanne.

Texte écrit par Olivier Burkhalter

Née à Bordighera (Italie), Valentina Rebaudo a commencé ses études musicales au Conservatoire de Menton (France). À 10 ans, elle fait son premier récital au Palais de l'Europe de Menton, et trois ans après elle remporte le concours international Le Royaume de la Musique organisé par Radio France.

Elle entre en 2004 au Conservatoire National de Région de Nice dans la classe de Michel Lethiec, où elle terminera ses études en 2007 avec une Médaille d'Or à l'unanimité. En 2009 elle est reçue à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne dans la classe de Frédéric Rapin, où elle obtient en 2013 le Master en Pédagogie musicale avec un prix d'excellence pour son récital ainsi que son projet: ce dernier, qui traite de la valeur de la musique comme forme de résistance non-violente (Music, this beautiful resistance) et propose une nouvelle conception de la pédagogie qui mettrait en avant la responsabilité qu’a le pédagogue dans la formation de la dimension humaine d’un artiste, touche profondément le jury. En 2015, après un an de spécialisation dans la classe de Jörg Widmann à la Musikhochschule de Freiburg im Breisgau (Allemagne), elle obtient son deuxième Master en Concert avec les félicitations du jury à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne.

Membre des Solistes de Monte-Carlo depuis l’âge de 11 ans, Valentina a déjà été invitée en tant que soliste par de nombreux orchestres, dont l'Orchestre Symphonique de Sanremo et plusieurs orchestres de chambre de la Côte d'Azur; très active en musique de chambre, elle a eu l’occasion de tenir des concerts à côté de musiciens renommés, tels que l'altiste danois Claus Myrup, le contrebassiste portugais Tiago Pinto Ribeiro, le pianiste belge Philippe Raskin, les violonistes Ernst Kovacic, Felix Froschhammer et Christian Danowicz, le hautboiste français Olivier Stankiewicz, la bassoniste française Sophie Dartigalongue, le Quatuor Lutoslawski de Varsovie, l’Orchestra da Tre Soldi de Turin, les solistes de la Leopoldinum Orchestra de Wroclaw... en 2014, elle assure avec la pianiste iranienne Layla Ramezan la création mondiale de la Rhapsodie pour clarinette et piano du compositeur iranien Hooshyar Khayam.

Valentina collabore régulièrement avec l’Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, la Münchener Kammerorchester de Munich, les Solistes de Monte-Carlo, la Camerata de Lausanne, et elle est membre de l'Orchestre Sinfonietta de Lausanne. En 2013 elle fait partie du casting de L'Echappée Belle, une pièce pour marionnettes à fils, voix récitante et trio de clarinettes, produite par l'acteur français Guy Jutard, qui connait un grand succès avec presque 50 représentations au cours du printemps 2013 à Genève. Parmi ses projets, on peut citer Opera Viva!, sextuor lyrique qui met en scène des spectacles autour de Mozart, le Duo Rusalka avec la pianiste Irene Puccia, qui met en avant le concept d'un monde féerique en musique, et Les Amours de Clara, projet en partenariat avec la pianiste Irene Puccia et la soprano Laure Barras, qui se propose de retracer la vie de Clara Schumann à travers ses lettres et ses oeuvres. Elle est également directrice artistique des Journées Musicales de Romanel, festival pédagogique qui vise la préparation des enfants à l'écoute d'un concert et plus précisément la découverte du répertoire de chambre.

Titulaire du CAS (Certificate of Advanced Studies) en Initiation Musicale Willems, Valentina est professeur au Conservatoire de Lausanne depuis 2015 et tient des conférences sur l'importance de la valeur humaine de l'enseignement de la musique pour le développement global de l'enfant: en 2013, elle a été invitée au Festival International des Droits de l'Enfant à Pavia (Italie) où elle a tenu un concert-conférence sur le sujet de la musique vue comme forme de résistance non-violente, et en 2017 elle a été invitée au Festival Art Culture Territoire à Ventimiglia (Italie) pour une rencontre sur le binôme musique-intégration. Elle a collaboré avec l'Université d'Aix-Marseille, en France, dans le cadre d'une thèse en sciences politiques sur la démocratisation de la musique classique, ainsi qu'avec le Centre Professionnel du Nord vaudois, en Suisse, pour une autre thèse sur l'initiation musicale dès l'enfance, et avec la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne dans le cadre d'une interview sur la pédagogie active. Parallèlement, elle continue son oeuvre de promotion de la musique comme forme de résistance non-violente : elle se rend régulièrement en Palestine, où elle enseigne la musique aux enfants des camps de réfugiés, en collaboration avec l’Edward Said National Conservatory of Palestine ; elle collabore également avec la fondation mexicaine Crescendo con la Música, ainsi que la Recycled Orchestra du Paraguay, fermement convaincue que les jeunes, en Europe et dans le monde entier, aient besoin de l’art pour créer une société libre. Valentina fait partie des artistes qui collaborent avec Les Concerts du Coeur, association valaisanne qui organise des concerts pour des personnes âgées, hospitalisées ou incarcérées.

Valentina vit actuellement à Vevey (Suisse) avec son mari, le clarinettiste suisse Sébastien Gex, et leur fille Mira, née en 2017. Depuis 2018, elle est membre de la commission "Egalité et Diversité" de la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne, et a été invitée à plusieurs reprises dans le cadre de diverses interventions au sujet de la place des femmes dans le monde de la culture et du pouvoir. Elle parle 4 langues.